Excellence in Broadcasting Awards

Mississippi Association of Broadcasters wants to congratulate all of the award winners!

2021 Award Winners

Congratulations to the Radio Station of the Year- WCKK, Television Station of the Year- WLBT! Radio Lifetime Achievement Award- Randy Bell with iHeart Radio, Television Lifetime Achievement Award- David Hartman with WAPT!

Achievement (Radio)
Mississippi Public Broadcasting Radio – Mississippi flies a new flag without Confederate emblem

Breaking News (Radio)
WLIN-FM – March 31 COVID 19 Update

Commercial Announcement – :30 seconds or less (Radio)
WZKX-FM – Half Baked Subs

Commercial Announcement – over :30 seconds (Radio)
WCKK-FM- Tom’s Fireworks

Commercial Campaign (Radio)
WROA-AM- Southern Pro Truck / Sparky & Floyd

Documentary of Series of Stories (Radio)
Mississippi Public Broadcasting Radio – Mississippi flies a new flag without Confederate emblem

Feature Story (Radio)
JSU- Domestic Violence

Multimedia (Radio)
Mississippi Public Broadcasting Radio – Survivors remember the shootings at Jackson State

Newscast (Radio)
Mississippi Public Broadcasting Radio – MPB News 6 am Newscast

Public Service Announcement (Radio)
WSKK-FM- Ripley Public Library

Radio Morning Show (Radio)
WWMS-FM- The Scott Show WWMS 2020

Radio Personality of the Year (Radio)
WLIN-FM- Breck Riley

Radio Public Service Award (Radio)
WLIN-FM- Doyle Goss Jail’n’Bail

Radio Rookie of the Year (Radio)
WSKK-FM- The Shark’s Secret Weapon

Radio Sports Play By Play (Radio)
WSKK-FM- Tigers Win!

Radio Talk Show (Radio)
WSKK-FM- Heard it On the Shark

Social Media (Radio)
WWMS-FM- Miss 98 Facebook

Sportscast or Sports Program (Radio)
WGCM-AM- High School Football Game of the Week

Sports Story (Radio)
WKOZ-FM- Leake Academy Wins State Championship

Station Promotion (Radio)
WCKK-FM- Mississippi Songwriter of the Year 2020

Use of Sound (Radio)
WKOZ-FM- Leake Academy Wins State Championship
MSU Radio – “From Fireside Chats to Twitter, the Love-Hate Relationship Between the Media and the Commander-in-Chief

Achievement (TV Large)
WLBT – Pearl River Flood Coverage

Achievement (TV Small)
MSU TV Center – MSU Films Series Submission

Breaking News (TV Large)
WAPT – Pearl River Flooding

Breaking News (TV Small)
WLOX – Harrison County Brush Fire

Breaking Weather (TV Small)
WLOX – Hurricane Zeta Coverage

Breaking Weather (TV Large)
WJTV – Easter Tornadoes

Commercial Announcement – :30 seconds or less (TV Small)
WDAM – Commercial Announcement – Choose Local

Commercial Announcement – Over :30 seconds (TV Small)
WLOX – Allen Beverages Monster Subs Image

Commercial Campaign (TV Small)
WLOX – Allen Beverages

Commercial Campaign (TV Large)
WAPT – 16 WAPT Farm Families of Mississippi

Continuing Coverage (TV Small)

Continuing Coverage (TV Large)
WAPT – Mississippi Coronavirus Impact

Feature Story (TV Large)
WAPT – Tik Tok Grandmas
WLBT – Maggie Earns Surprise Honorary Degree

Feature Story (TV Small)
MSU TV Center – It’s a Journey

General News (TV Small)
WLOX – Confederate Statue Protest

General News (TV Large)
WLBT – Victims Recall Moment Tornadoes Struck

High School Football Program (TV Small)
WTOK – Football Friday

Investigative Reporting (TV Small)
WLOX – Keesler Air Force Base 403rd Illness Special Report Follow-up

Investigative Reporting (TV Large)
WLBT – Sinkholes Plague Property Owner

Multimedia (TV Small)
WLOX – Delta Dawn

Multimedia (TV Large)
WLBT – JSU President Arrested for Soliciting

New Media Innovation (TV Large)
WLBT – Mississippi Weekend: Winter Russian Cocktail Recipe

News Anchor (TV Small)
WLOX – WLOX Alison Spann

Newscast (TV Large)
WJTV – WJTV 12 News at 6p

Newscast (TV Small)
WLOX – WLOX 6pm Newscast – April 1, 2020

News Videographer (TV Small)
MSU TV Center – James Parker

Public Affairs Program (TV Small)
WCBI – Mid Morning with Aundrea “Better Together”

Public Affairs Program (TV Large)
Mississippi Public Broadcasting TV – ISSUE-Mississippi’s prison unrest

Public Service Announcement (TV Small)
WHPM – FOX23 Habitat Mud Run

Social Media (TV Small)

Social Media (TV Large)

Special Report (TV Small)
WTVA – Pressure On Prisons

Special Report (TV Large)
WLBT – ICE Raid Impact 6 Months Later

Sports Anchor (TV Small)
WCBI – Courtney Robb, WCBI TV weekend sports anchor

Sports Story (TV Small)
WDAM – Eddie Payton’s Museum of Memories

Sports Story (TV Large)
WJTV – Coach Prime’s first local interview

Station Promos (TV Small)
WCBI – Happy Holidays from WCBI

Station Promos (TV Large)
WAPT – Jackson’s 16 WAPT – 2020 Promotional Campaign

Television Public Service Award (TV Small)
WMDN – Golden Apple

Television Public Service Award (TV Large)
WAPT – 16 WAPT Virtual Turkey Drive 2020

Television Rookie of the Year (TV Small)
WTOK – Janae’ Hancock

TV Reporter (TV Small)
WLOX – Chancelor Winn

TV Reporter (TV Large)
WLBT – Courtney Ann Jackson

Weather Anchor (TV Small)
WTOK – Meteorologist Stephen Bowers 2020

First Amendment Award of Excellence (TV Small)
WLOX – Keesler Air Force Base 403rd Illness Special Report Follow-up

First Amendment Award of Excellence (TV Large)
WLBT – Felon Hired by JPD

PEP Support Award – in appreciation for going above and beyond to support our PEP program
Radio – New South Radio

Radio Lifetime Achievement Award – Randy Bell – iHeartRadio
Television Lifetime Achievement Award – David Hartman – WAPT

Radio Station of the Year – WCKK
Television Station of the Year – WLBT